0

When I launch IDA for the first time, I move my windows to reflect my perfect window setup. Then I save the desktop and set it as default, plus I additionally save a named backup.

After this, I close IDA, launch it again, and everything works.

However, after some time (days-weeks) I get message: "incompatible saved desktop has been ignored" and my desktop is completely reset to default. Restoring the desktop from the backup results in the same message. This has already happened a couple of times and each time it was very annoying. What is the reason for this behavior and how can I keep my desktop?

1

This message is shown if a user changes screen resolution between IDA restarts, which happens particularly often when using IDA inside a virtual machine (which gets arbitrary resolution unless it's launched fullscreen). So to keep the desktop, make sure to maintain the same screen resolution when launching IDA.

I haven't tested if the default desktop is overwritten as soon as IDA starts with different resolution than previous session. Having a named backup for this scenario certainly won't hurt.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.